Criminal Misdemeanor Virginia Maryland Massachusetts
A misdemeanor in Virginia, Maryland & Massachusetts is a “lesser” criminal act. Misdemeanors in Virginia, Maryland & Massachusetts are generally punished much less severely than felonies.
The federal government generally considers a crime punishable with incarceration for one year or less to be a misdemeanor. All other crimes are felonies.
In Virginia, Maryland & Massachusetts, examples of misdemeanors include: petty theft, prostitution, public intoxication, simple assault, disorderly conduct, trespass, vandalism, drug possession, DUI and other similar crimes.
In Virginia, Maryland & Massachusetts, misdemeanors are crimes with a maximum punishment of 12 months of incarceration.
Have you been charged with a misdemeanor in Maryland, Massachusetts or Virginia?
Are you facing a misdemeanor in Maryland, Massachusetts or Virginia?
If you need help to defend yourself against a misdemeanor charge in Maryland, Massachusetts or Virginia, then contact the SRIS Law Group Maryland, Massachusetts or Virginia criminal law defense lawyers for help.
Our Maryland, Massachusetts & Virginia misdemeanor defense attorneys will do their best to help you.
The following are some of the laws in VA, MD & MA:
- § 18.2-174. Impersonating officer.
Any person who shall falsely assume or exercise the functions, powers, duties and privileges incident to the office of sheriff, police officer, marshal, or other peace officer, or who shall falsely assume or pretend to be any such officer, shall be deemed guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 4-226. Violations of § 4-206, § 4-213, § 4-214, § 4-215, § 4-216, or § 4-218; assault, resistance or interference with enforcement.
(a) Violations of § 4-206, § 4-213, § 4-214, § 4-215, § 4-216, or § 4-218.- Any person who violates the provisions of § 4-206, § 4-213, § 4-214, § 4-215, § 4-216, or § 4-218 of this subtitle is guilty of a misdemeanor. Notwithstanding any other penalty provided by this article, the person, upon conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000, or imprisonment not exceeding one year, or both. If a violation involves intent to defraud or any distribution or attempted distribution of an adulterated article, the person is subject to a fine not exceeding $10,000, or imprisonment not exceeding three years, or both. The court may impose costs in its discretion.
- §ALM GL ch. 22C, § 12. Authority — Misdemeanor Violations and Traffic Rules.
Any uniformed member of the state police may, upon view of any misdemeanor committed in his presence while on duty, arrest the person committing such misdemeanor, where such misdemeanor was committed in any building or grounds owned or occupied, wholly or in part by the commonwealth, or on streets adjacent to any such building, and shall enforce all traffic rules, regulations and ordinances on streets adjacent to buildings owned or occupied, wholly or in part, by the commonwealth.